Follow us on
Getting to Tahiti

Visas & Passports

Entry formalities

Nationals from the following countries are entitled to a three-month stay without a visa:

European Union

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Spain

Other Countries

Andorra, Australia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, St Marin, the Vatican, Switzerland

Maximum 3 month stay per semester

South America, Brazil, China, and Chinese citizens holding a valid passport from Hong Kong or Macau, Bulgaria

Refugees & Stateless persons

Must hold a travel authorisation from France

The nationals from the following countries are entitled to a one-month stay without a visa

North, South and Central America

Argentina, Bolivia, Canada, Costa Rica, Chile, El Salvador, Equador, United States, Mexico, Nicaragua, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay

Asia Pacific

New Zealand, Japan, Malaysia, South Korea, Brunei, Singapore



Foreigners who have a permanent residence permit for continental France do not have to secure a visa. With the exception of citizens of the European Union and foreigners holding a permanent residence permit for continental France with 10-year validity, foreigners arriving in French Polynesia must be able to show proof a return ticket or, upon arrival, pay a repatriation deposit. For more information, visit the website:

Authorisation to transit through New Zealand

You do not need a visitor visa if you are stopping off at a New Zealand airport on your way to another country, staying in New Zealand for less than 24 hours, and not leaving the transit area of the airport. However, you may require a transit visa.

You will not need a transit visa if:

  • you are from a visa-waiver country
  • your next legal destination is Australia
  • you are a citizen of one of the following countries, which are exempt from transit visa requirements.

Countries exempt from transit visa requirements

Bahamas Papua New Guinea
Bermuda Paraguay
Bolivia Peru
Colombia Philippines
Costa Rica Republic of Marshall Islands
Ecuador Samoa
Federated States of Micronesia Solomon Islands
Indonesia Thailand
Kiribati Tonga
Nauru Tuvalu
Palau Vanuatu
Panama Venezuela

Customs formalities

All merchandise must be declared and any relevant duties paid at the Customs Office. Note that when entering or leaving French Polynesia, certain merchandise is subject to special rules. To view the list of such merchandise, visit:

The General Directorate for Customs and Indirect Taxation also provides information at the website of the the French Ministry for the Economy, Finance and